Skip navigation

Ok y’all, what follows will be the History of Text-based Art, as I see it, with digressions. I’ll break out each section by era, or artist, depending on influence.

I had originally meant to use the following art as part of a lecture I gave the Bush Barn Art Center in Salem, Oregon, but after 5 weeks of work I was told their patrons weren’t capable of ‘academic,’ so I had to scrap it. Given the chotchkies that stock the BBAC, yep, I get management’s point of view, being as it’s self-inflicted, and wrong.

Have fun!

And let me know if I’m missing something obvious.

My other site: davidnielsenart.com

One Comment

  1. I’m pleased I found this site, and I’ll return to it as it is thought provoking and an interesting angle on text and art. Thank you. lindasusanwilliams.com creative project


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

